Landmark court case brings marriage equality to 20 countries with one ruling:

Landmark court case brings marriage equality to 20 countries with one ruling:

The Western Hemisphere is rejoicing over the ruling in a marriage equality case out of Costa Rica. Not only is the ruling binding for the Central American country, the Inter-American Court of Human Rights ruling also sets precedent for 19 other countries who have agreed to abide by the court’s decisions.

A handful of the countries under the court’s jurisdiction already have marriage equality, but most do not. ArgentinaBrazil, Colombia and Uruguay already recognize same-sex marriages as does several states in Mexico. Chile and Ecuador currently recognize same-sex civil unions but not marriages.

The ruling is legally binding in Argentina, Barbados, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname and Uruguay.

Shortly after the ruling was announced, the Costa Rican government announced that it would comply with the ruling. A marriage equality bill pending in Chile and a court case in Panama will be bolstered by the court’s ruling.

“Today is an historic day, a day of light. The Inter-American Court vindicates the rights of LGBTI persons under the American Convention, and reminds all the States of their responsibility and historical moral obligation to this population,” Costa Rican Vice President Ana Helena Chacón said.

The government’s official Twitter account sent out a tweet announcing their decision to comply with the ruling.

Amar es una condición humana que debe ser respetada, sin ningún tipo de discriminación. El Estado ratifica su compromiso de acatar la opinión consultiva de la . 

Translation: Loving is a human condition that must be respected, without any discrimination. The State ratifies its commitment to comply with the advisory opinion of the  .

In the Western Hemisphere, homosexuality is criminalized in Barbados, Jamaica, and Trinidad and Tobago. Dominica, Grenada and Jamaica do not submit to the rulings of the court.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s